News and Media

2014 Finalists announced

Media release 22 Septmber 2014

The judges have completed their review of the many projects and individuals nominated for awards this year, and have announced the finalists for each category.  

“The standard this year has been very high, in some categories it was nearly impossible to pick the finalists as there were so many great nominations.”

“We are looking forward to announcing the winners at the gala dinner in November, when New Zealand's open source community will come together to celebrate the achievements of the projects and people who make such a great contribution,” said Don Christie, chair of the judging panel.

Open Source use in Government
Auckland city council Makerspace
Common web platform
Totara Government User Group

Open Source use in Business
Scoop Independent News

Open Sourse use in Education
Catalyst Open Source Academy
Makerspace in Dunedin
WEKA Data Mining project

Open Source Contributor
Andrew Bartlett
Kristina Hoeppner's contributions to Mahara
Randall Britten for Auckland Bioengineering Institute open source software

Open Source Software Project - NZ Official Information Act Requests
Koha Library Software project
Loomio - Open Source App for Collaborative Decision-Making

Open Source in Social Services
City Housing Computer Hubs
UC CEISMIC programme
Wikiproject New Zealand

Open Science award
Auckland Bioengineering Institute of open source software
Global Marine Environmental Datasets
WEKA Data mining project

Open Arts award
19 Tory St
Birgit Bachler's exhibition copy wildly
Douglas Bagnall for the Recur project

People's choice
Andrew Caudwell's contribution to data visualization
Chris Forbes for contributions to Mesa 3D OpenGL
Damian Mooyman contribution to Silverstripe
Dragonfly Science for their commitment to open data - NZ Official Information Act Requests
Rob Elshire


The organisers of the NZOSA are please to confirm that once again InternetNZ has agreed to be a Platinum sponsor of the of the event.

We would also like to thank are other sponsors.
Gold - .nz registry services and SilverStripe
Silver - Institute of IT Professionals, REANNZ, Rabid,
Bronze - Dragonfly, NZOSS.  

Institute of IT Professionals is also the category sponsor for Open Source in Education.

Clinton Bedogni Prize for Open Systems

Once again The University of Auckland Department of Computer science is presenting the Clinton Bedgoni prize for open systems at the NZOSA gala dinner.  More details and nomination forms are available at link)


← Back to the news

Last modified:

© 2018 Catalyst IT Limited. | Powered by SilverStripe. | Designed by Catalyst IT.