About the NZOSA Awards

Free and open source technology is changing the way people and organisations collaborate and innovate to achieve common goals.

The Awards work to raise awareness of the free and open source advantage for New Zealand by telling powerful success stories based on real achievements that are already making a difference for our country.

For each award category the New Zealand open source community, government, and the private sector, nominate the outstanding projects and people that make open source the vibrant and successful force it is in New Zealand businesses and communities.  Each nomination is considered by a panel of judges, who come from the different sectors and bring together a wide range of skills and knowledge.

NZOSA 2016 Judges 

 Brenda Wallace judge

Brenda Wallace

Brenda Wallace is a New Zealand technologist, open source contributor, and open data advocate. She is a programmer at Rabid Technologies, and a councillor on the board of InternetNZ.

Bronwyn Holloway-Smith image

Bronwyn Holloway-Smith

Bronwyn is an award-winning artist and researcher based in Wellington. She is the Project Director of the E. Mervyn Taylor Mural Search & Recovery Project at Massey University College of Creative Arts. She is currently completing a PhD in Fine Arts on the cultural significance of the New Zealand landing sites of the Southern Cross Cable.

Dave Lane - judge

Dave Lane

Dave is a passionate advocate for open source. In his role as NZOSS president, he advocates the adoption of open standards and more Free and Open Source Software (FOSS) by organisations in both public and private sectors. He is currently the 'Open Source Technologist' at the OER Foundation, building and supporting FOSS platforms for a global community of educators.

 Edwin Bruce - Judge

Edwin Bruce

Teaches Digital Technologies at Wellington East Girls' College. Describes himself as a Learner, Teacher, Facilitator and ICT Professional. Business experience includes Forestry, Wholesale Banking, Fisheries Management and Government administration. Roles include leadership, operations management, software development, information policy & programme management. Edwin now brings his experience to the classroom.

Dr Fabiana Kubke

As well as being a respected neuroscientist  at the University of Auckland, Fabiana is passionate about open source. She's an open science advocate, Chair of the Advisory Panel of Creative Commons Aotearoa New Zealand, Manaiakalani hacker, and Open Science Prize Expert Adviser.

Jason Ryan - Judge

Jason Ryan

Jason is a public sector hacker. In addition to his ongoing involvement with the Arch Linux community and being one of the maintainers of Surfraw, he has submitted numerous patches for the Public Service over the last decade. Some have even been applied. Jason is Manager, Strategy and Relations at Catalyst.

 Image Jay Daley Judge 2016

Jay Daley

A long time advocate of open source and occasional code contributor Jay is a critical Internet infrastructure practitioner, data and analytics specialist and global expert in domain names.  Jay the CEO of NZRS Ltd which operate the registry and DNS for the .nz top level domain almost entirely on open source and following the principles open knowledge, open data and open source.


History of the awards

The New Zealand Open Source Awards were first held in 2007, then 2008 and biennially since then.  The most recent in November 2014.

The roll call of previous winners, and the nominations that they were drawn from, is an impressive testament to New Zealand's contributions to the global open source movement. As those contributions continue, the New Zealand Open Source Awards recognise that achievement and celebrate it with the people that make it happen.

 Chris Cormack doing a Karakia at the start of the 2014 gala dinner.

© 2017 Catalyst IT Limited. | Powered by SilverStripe. | Designed by Catalyst IT.